YSL RIVE GAUCHE 98-99 BY HEDI SLIMANE

I guess it is pretty evident that i am currently going through a Hedi moment with a second instalment on the mans great work. This time we go way back, looking at a collection he did for YSL in 1998-1999. For me looking back at this collection was sort of a way to pin point how forward thinking Slimane was. I mean for example, check out the sleeveless cashmere knit similar to Raf Simmons SS11 sleeveless crew with the zip on the back. Cropped bomber jackets must also be back in especially after Acne and Calvin Klein dropped a few pieces with the chop for this summer. One of my favourite looks from this show is the leopard print over coat teamed up with black,  wouldn’t wear it personally but I think it captures the true essence of YSL – in my opinion breaking the rules.

I guess what I am trying to say here is that nothing is new underneath the sun and great design is classic design. Here Hedi has looked back to the roots of YSL and played around with timeless staple pieces and flipped them  into his own interpretation of sports-class.

This entry was posted in Fashion, FILM and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment