YOHJI YAMAMOTO SPRING SUMMER 2012


 
Spring summer 2012 is now in full effect or shall I say Yohji is now landing in a few stores. It was only a few months ago that we were conversing about this collection over the live show updates on ‘Nowness’. I will have to say, the runway swagger of Yohji Yamamoto is second to none as Yohji transforms a diverse register of models into samurai warriors. I’m talking – the european models in the show looked like ninjas! This called to mind a passage in his book ‘My dear bomb’ where he states that his work is a reminder or sort of a portal to ones childhood past. The connection for me is a bit cliché but I am a big samurai film fan with one of my favorites being Zatoichi, a film about a Yakuza gang war and a blind swordsman go and watch it.

For me everything in this collection was to like, a few fashionistas have said it was quite repetitive but I say otherwise. Yohji to me is layers and width. The baggy relaxed comfy look is what signifies Yohji’s style. He has mastered comfort and utility through a vast knowledge and experience with fabrics combined with technicality.

To conclude, I will say Yohji continues to transform my view on fashion through the following of Japanese aesthetic of skirt-like pants, jumbo pleated pants and off-course the signature black skirt and white shirt towards the end all things that may not necessarily be new under the sun but definitely reincarnated in the name of Yohji.

www.yohjiyamamoto.co.jp

This entry was posted in Avant-garde, Exhibition, Fashion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

